Religious Education

​The Vision for Religious Education in Catholic Archdiocese of Brisbane emphasises t5402432166_b2f5db7622_w.jpgwo dimensions of Religious Education - the Religion Curriculum and the Religious Life of the School. This vision articulates St Clare's Primary School’s aspirations for students in terms of their religious literacy and faith formation. 
Religious Education seeks to develop the religious literacy of students in light of the Catholic Christian tradition, so that they might participate critically and authentically in contemporary culture.
Students become religiously literate as they develop the knowledge, skills and dispositions to interpret and use language confidently in and for faith contexts and the wider society.
The distinct and complementary nature of both dimensions of Religious Education has been conceptualised in the following Model for Religious Education.​ 

 "Sr. Mary's stained glass collection - St. Clare" by kevin dooley is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

RE Dimensions.png 
©​​​​​​​​​​BCE/Catholic Identity 2016
St Clare's Primary School seeks to understand and utilise the distinctiveness and complementarity of these two dimensions of Religious Education in the holistic education and the formation of students. 

Our school programs, activities and experiences for the classroom learning and teaching of religion and the religious life of the school are responsive to religious diversity, while being faithful to the Catholic Christian identity of the school.
Dimension 1: The Religion Curriculum
The Religion Curriculum P-12 (Teaching people religion) involves four strands: Sacred Texts, Beliefs, Church and Christian Life. These strands are interrelated and are taught in an integrated way, and in ways that are appropriate to specific local contexts.
Dimension 2: The Religious Life of the School
The Religious Life of the School P-12 is focused on the second dimension of Religious Education, commonly referred to as “teaching people to be religious in a particular way”. The Religious Life of the School P-12 comprises four interrelated components: Religious Identity and Culture; Evangelisation and Faith Formation; Prayer and Worship; and Social Action and Justice. Each of these components, while mutually reinforcing, provides a significant focus on a distinctive aspect of the religious life of the school.